Pros

Scans can be slow

Cons

Very good malware detection and strong innovative feature set

Overall Score

8.3
Intro

Intro

Avast! is an antivirus software developed by a Czech Security company called Avast Software. The company was founded in 1988 so has been around for almost 2 decades! Within this time the software has had plenty of peaks and troughs like any normal company, but it's coming into it's own now! As of 2016, Avast! had 400 million users and around 40% of the market share (outside of china). With offices in the US, Germany, China, South Korea and Taiwan is a giant. Last month (September 2016), Avast bought AVG for $1.3 billion!

Visit Avast
    Overall rating
Value

Value

Avast concentrate massively on their free solution which is very good, but we are reviewing all paid solutions as we believe they contain a lot more features and protect you more effectively. Avast!'s Pro Antivirus comes in at $39.99 for the year but only protects 1 device which isn't normal these days, most companies offer at least 2 or 3 devices in their standard protection as so many people use multiple devices daily. A huge bonus is that you can download a full, licensed version of their software and use it like a paid user for 30 days and there is no commitment to them either, if you don't like it, uninstall the program and off you go.

Reliability and Security

Reliability and Security

Avast! has stacks of awards and certifications under its belt, so surely this must say a lot about the quality of the product? Well yes, in a way. Critic reviews and awards aren't handed out like free cheese at a supermarket, a lot of testing is involved. Awards don't say it all though, software is updated daily so awards can quickly become irrelevant, so we performed our own testing. To be fair, the software is smooth, quick and looks beautiful.

Support and Customer Service

Support and Customer Service

No live chat is a big negative with Avast!'s support but then again they do offer 24/7 phone support, so that almost makes up for lack of live chat. Their site is absolutely gorgeous and very easy to navigate around. We'd go as far to say that this is the nicest site out of the companies we've reviewed, with Scanguard in a close second. But what does a good site actually do? Trust us, when you're on a website trying to find support for over 10 minutes you'll appreciate a good looking and easy to navigate site. Big thumbs up for Avast here!

Features

Features

Avast!'s Pro Antivirus is packed full of useful tools, from the obvious Intelligent Antivirus to a Password manager and a Browser Cleaner. There is however one feature that stands out to us, Sandbox! This is an awesome feature which allows you to test any file(s) before actually running it, whether that file comes from a download server from the internet, torrent file or even a friends USB drive. This is the ultimate tool for safety and think this could be the start of something new, it's certainly innovative and works very well.

Customer Feedback For Avast

Ellen - 12-14-2017

Installed Avast and now have trouble with computer freeze.

Randy Coller - 12-10-2017

Avast somehow got loaded on my notebook, I did not load it. Unable to remove it. So I called Avast and they wanted to charge a service fee to remove it. After I demanded to speak with a supervisor and threatened to sue them, they relented and removed it. Shady operation if you ask me.

Dean William Bartlett - 12-08-2017

Paid for a two-year license back in September for a PC for around $80. I switched from using a PC to a Mac. Call customer service because the actuation code stop working on the Mac. Was told that I would have to purchase a Mac version. Money for nothing!

Mike1934 - 12-07-2017

Have used Avast for years, no problems at all.

David - 12-03-2017

I have used this product for several years on multiple computers. Initially they were great, but I have recently had some very bad service experiences when their software failed to launch with UI error. They tried to blame it on my new laptop and charged me to fix the problem. I will not be renewing.

lev - 12-02-2017

it just recognized a steam game as a virus... and deleted it how worse can it get?

Michael - 11-11-2017

Installed Avast now my computer freezes up crap

Stephen Cooper - 11-04-2017

Slows down you computer and network, too many hidden agendas. Not worth the money. Best to stay away fom.

Paladin117 - 11-01-2017

I have always found their support to be outstanding and I would rather talk than chat anyway . There are add-ons which I gladly pay for and I like that they send me accurate reminders and DO NOT charge me unless I ask them to. I rate this far higher than Norton, McAfee or if they still exist the dreaded Symantec. The other program I used was AVG - so the rich get richer.

axelXkane - 08-18-2017

AVAST Software is the one to install but you have too pay to play and it's not going to put you in the poorhouse , Get it

Rumen Ivanov Tsonchev - 08-15-2017

It isĀ“nt free really. It makes the computer slow. Some PC functions are lost. Trash.

Evariste Galois - 08-11-2017

***** Long-time customer, big fan, satisfied. One of the things Avast is known for is protecting against the recent in-the-news ransomware Wanna Cry(pto). There's a "ransomware shield" they distributed. I've had no flaws, no lockups. I've been in the tech business for 38 years and am choosy about what I put on my machines. The licenses aren't just single-machine - you can buy multi-seat licenses. Avast doesn't restrict their products to just anti-virus, all bundle together to create a nearly impregnable machine. I don't let my guard down, however, but I do rest easier knowing what I've seen it block (and notifies me).

robert engels - 08-09-2017

I had Avast anti-virus installed on my desk top, I had to take my computer to the local Devise store to have 2 viruses removed, do not feel I got a good value with Avast. stop

H.B. - 08-06-2017

Terrible customer service. They auto charged my credit card $179 because I purchased it 2 years before and apparently agreed to auto-renewal. My original payment was $79, I did not agree to the extra $100. I called Visa as I thought this was a fraudulent charge, they then charged me $11 of management fees. An absolutely disrespectful interaction with the employee. A free antivirus is just as good as this.

Daniel - 07-18-2017

Avast is a very good anti-virus it runs smoothly and hassle free but if you have an old computer running window vista like I had do not use the optimiser feature it rendered my old computer useless damaged files and my computer could not boot anymore and was rendered useless!

Click Here to Visit Avast
Close Popup
Hey Wait

You are eligible

Claim your copy

For free!

Total AV Pro 2018

  • Instantly identify harmful threats
  • Speedup overall performance
  • Delete redundant files
  • Secure internet connection